top of page
Sports Car in Storm



2017 Inaugural Championship

2017 Inaugural ChampionshipThe 2017 season was the first season of the GRID Ranking. The first leader of the GRID Ranking was IndyCar racer Sebastien Bourdais. Bourdais would lead up until May, when he lost the lead to Kevin Harvick from NASCAR. However, Harvick had nothing for fellow competitor Martin Truex, Jr, the series champion. Truex earned eight wins, including the season finally, sealing the deal for the first GRID Ranking World Championship over MotoGP racer Marc Marquez.  


2018 2nd GRID World  Championship

The second season of the GRID Ranking again saw IndyCar racer Sebastien Bourdais lead the first weekend of the GRID Ranking, but it didn't last long as NASCAR saw three drivers dominate most of the season. Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, and the 2017 GRID Ranking Champion Martin Truex, Jr. all exchanged the lead. However, Marc Marquez at MotoGP had several dominating races, earning the lead with a few weeks left. Kyle Busch failed to finish third or better at the NASCAR season finale, coming up short of passing Marquez by 0.01 point.


2019 GRID Ranking & WML

The third season was historic and saw only one change in the GRID Ranking World Championship. Scott McLaughlin lead the GRID Ranking for a record 32 straight weeks, but a couple of DNS brought down Scott’s point total, allowing Marc Marquez to overtake Scott with a dominant season and became the first two time and back to back GRID Ranking World Champion.

The ultimate motorsport league where races on 2 or 4 wheels compete on a global stage. The World Motorsport League follows drivers that compete in multiple series, all championship races are scored, and a GRID World Motorsport League Champion is crowned annually. Kazuki Nakajima from World Endurance Championship outscored Marc Marquez to earn the inaugural championship!


2020 GRID World Motorsport League & Ranking

The 2020 GRID World Motorsport League (WML) saw the closest finish in the WML history. By 0.02, Phil Hanson took the title over Lewis Hamilton. Lewis did miss one race due to testing positive for COVID-19, but Phil Hanson had a sensational season with 21 races, seven wins, 11 podiums, four poles, and one fastest lap. Along with LMP2 Drivers FIA Endurance Trophy and European Le Mans Series - LMP2 Championship. 

The 2020 GRID Ranking came down to Lewis Hamilton and Scott McLaughlin and, due to Lewis Hamilton, secured the GRID Ranking with two races left in the Formula 1 season. Lewis becomes the third driver to win the GRID Ranking World Championship and the first Formula 1 driver to win the GRID Ranking World Championship. Lewis was the world's best, dominating the F1 season and earning Knighthood! 

2021 GRID World Motorsport League & Ranking

A historic GRID World Motorsport League saw Jamie Chadwick from the W Series become the first female racer to win a GRID World Championship. Her dominating performance in the W Series got her ahead of the rest of the racers across the world! 

The GRID Ranking World Championship came down to Shane van Gisbergen, Sebastien Ogier, and Kyle Larson. Kyle Larson was eliminated after Ogier won the WRC season finale at Monza, setting it up for van Gisbergen to wrap it up at the Bathurst 1000.


Shane van Gisbergen was in a position to win the GRID Ranking World Championship. However, a late flat tire with a handful of laps relegated him to the back. It allowed Sebastien Ogier to win the GRID Ranking World Championship, becoming the first French and World Rally Championship driver to win the GRID Ranking.

2022 GRID Ranking & 
Shane van Gisbergen

A historic display of domination was on full display in the Repco Supercars Series when Shane van Gisbergen wrapped up the GRID Ranking at the Bathurst 1000 in October, becoming the first driver to wrap up the GRID Ranking in October! Shane had 21 wins and 27 podiums in 34 races in the 2022 Supercars Series season. Shane's season topped the GRID Ranking every week after Scott McLaughlin led the first weekend. 

The season also saw Max Verstappen pull away from everyone in Formula 1 to claim the F1 World Drivers Championship early. Francesco Bagnaia overcame a 91-point deficit in MotoGP to claim his first World Championship.

Will Power won the INDYCAR Series Championship and finished fourth in the GRID Ranking with only one win. Still, a consistent season of podiums and top-10 finishes overcame Josef Newgarden's five-win season.

bottom of page