• MattWhiteRacing

Introducing the GRID GLC

Grid Global Championship League: How it works?

Welcome to the GRID GLC, the second of the GRID Ranking scoreboard’s for 2019. The question is often asked, “Who’s the best?” With the GRID GLC we will attempt to find out. The question we are trying to answer is “Who was the best racer of the year?”

We’ve combined the world’s biggest motorsport series into one championship, but how will that work with series running different length calendar’s and points system’s? The key to the GRID GLC is an average score, that is how we will list the championship table.

The series included will all score towards the GRID GLC using the F1 points system.

1st – 25 points, 2nd – 18, 3rd – 15, 4th – 12, 5th – 10, 6th – 8, 7th – 6 , 8th – 4, 9th – 2 , 10th - 1 point.

A minimum of 3 starts during the calendar year is mandatory (these can be across multiple disciplines /series).

The eligible series to the GRID GLC are as follows:

Single Seaters - F1, F2, F3, Indycar, Formula E.

Off road – World Rally Championship, World Rallycross Championship.

Touring Cars – DTM, British Touring Car Championship, World Touring Car Cup, Virgin Australia Supercars.

Motorcycles – MotoGP, British Superbike, World Superbike.

Nascar – All three national touring series (Cup, Xfinity &Trucks)

Endurance – World Endurance Championship, IMSA, European Le Mans Series, Blancpain GT Europe.

All championship points scoring races count towards the GRID GLC (World Superbikes Superpole race is counted as a standard race, Nascar’s All Star Race is not included, double points scoring races eg Le Mans 24H are also counted a standard points scoring race).

WEC, IMSA & ELMS races have multiple classes of car running in each race, these are all counted as separate races to improve the chances of drivers in the slower classes running for the GRID GLC crown as they would be highly unlikely to score if we were to use the overall classification’s of these races.

World Rallycross is scored in a different way. With each round consisting of four qualifying heat’s, a semi and a final rather than the one straight race. The finishing order of the final at each event will score the 1st-6th points for the event, 7th-10th will be ranked by the semi final race times of the drivers that didn’t make the final. With 6 drivers taking part in each of the semi finals, the slowest of the 12 drivers in the semi final’s will miss out on GRID GLC points.

Scoring for the 2019 GRID GLC actually started in 2018, with the opening round of the Formula E championship in Saudi Arabia in December included in the 2019 races. The final race weekend in the schedule is the WEC race in Bahrain on December 14th.

Below is how the table looks after the Easter weekend, the drivers/riders who have less than 3 starts have been filtered out as they are illeagable.

Be sure to check into @GridRating on twitter and here on gridranking.com every Wednesday to see the latest update to the table’s to see how your favourite driver/rider is doing against the biggest list of competitors ever compiled in world motorsport. Matt White (@mattwhiteracing)

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All